Psallam spiritu et mente

With spirit and understanding


news flashes


South African National Body

The Royal School of Church Music South Africa was launched as a National Body in January 2006, at the Summer School in Pietermarizburg. This was in line with the recommendations and requirements from the RSCM Council in the United Kingdom and the new National Constitution. South African Branch Chairs and representatives nominate the National committee which currently consists of:

Malcolm Chalmers   Acting Chairman

Position vacant

  Secretary / Treasurer
Sidney Place   RSCM Council Representative
Malcolm Chalmers   Northern Branch Chair
David Orr   Cape Town Chair
Marianne de Jager   Kwa Zulu Natal Chair
Jenny Yates   Eastern Cape Chair
Jenny Campbell-Pitt   Northern Branch Representative
Grant Brasler   Cape Town Branch Representative
Dr Robin Walton   Kwa Zulu Natal Branch Representative
Tommy Horne   Eastern Cape Representative
Annemarie van der Walt   Free State Representative


RSCM 2015

A South African Strategy for growth, mission and furthering the work of the RSCM

Within the beautiful setting of Bishopscourt Cape Town and in the presence of His Grace the Archbishop of Cape Town, an august gathering of interdenominational church leaders, choir directors and interest groups met to discuss “RSCM 2015” - A South African Strategy for growth, mission and furthering the work of the RSCM.

A day of high energy and wonderful strategic contributions was the end result. The influence of the RSCM in South Africa was affirmed in the five key areas of education, publishing, developing alliances, marketing as well as a focus on attracting and developing organists. All of these were combined into a working plan for the future.

The astounding diversity of the group was united in a strong bond of unity of purpose; truly a reflection of the spirit of the “new” South Africa. A way forward has been chartered and new areas of growth identified. The strengthening of partnerships and friendships made will continue as a result of this excellent meeting.



In addition to the national body, the RSCM in South Africa has five branches:

  • Northern Branch

  • Free Sate

  • KwaZulu Natal

  • Cape Town

  • Eastern Cape


Contact Details

Co-ordinator R Allison

P O Box 17177, Benoni West, South Africa 1503

click to email